タグ

, ,

The main purpose of my New York visit this time was attending “World Summit on Innovation and Social Entrepreneurship.” It was such an honor to be invited to this prestigious gathering that has awarded globally recognized figures such as Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, Bill Gates, and Rwanda President Paul Kagame.

The third version of the WISE was also joined by big names and corporations, such as UN Goodwill Ambassador, Astrophysicist, music artist, Toyota, CocaCola, Disney, GE and adidas in addition to researchers and SMEs aiming for making a better world with innovative ideas and technologies.


CIMG7464     CIMG7480

Personally I was glad to find the adidas speaker was a goof friend of “streetfootballworld,” Sport For Smile’s strategic partner and a global network of NGOs that are making difference using the power of soccer. It was also amazing that the UN Goodwill Ambassador, who is first African “Miss Universe” and whose Foundation was created being advised by Nelson Mandela, really liked “Sport For Smile”! (though it was a pity that FB co-founder did not have any idea on linking technology to “sport for social change” space, but look forward to updates.)

Special thank you to Sam Hamdan, Executive Chairman and Curator of the WSIE, for organizing and inviting me to this valuable event, as well as to Akira Foundation, social innovation partner of the WSIE which is delivering remarkable projects while bridging Japan and the world. Will promise to make the most of this great opportunity to better the world through Sport For Smile!

WSIE2014 d

今回のニューヨーク出張、メインの目的は「ソーシャルイノベーションと起業家精神に関する世界サミット(WSIE)」という、イノベーティブや発想や技術をもってよりよい世界をつくっていくための議論をする集まりに参加するためでした。

最近はやりの分野ではありますが、このサミット、過去の受賞者がビルゲイツ氏やデヅモンド・ツツ大司教、ルワンダのカガメ大統領など、錚々たる方々で、最初ご招待を頂いたときはかなり躊躇しましたが、そこは disruption (創造的破壊?)が推奨される場ということで、参加することにしました。

もともとUNDP等の国連機関との連携のもと始まったサミットでしたが、今年のサミットは、UNOPをパートナーとしてニューヨークで国連総会期間中に開催されたこともあり、国連大使でアフリカ人初のミスユニバースも登場し刺激的でした!ネルソンマンデラ大統領の支援のもと創設されたという彼女の基金は、アフリカの少女に機会とツールを与える活動をしています。(”援助”に志向していないところが素晴らしい!) そんな素晴らしい方にSport For Smile の活動も名前も気に入っていただき感激でした。

WSIE2014 b   WSIE2014 c

登壇者は他に、トヨタ、コカ・コーラ、ディズニー、アディダスといったグローバルブランドのイノベーション担当者やFBの共同創立者や新鋭企業の創立者たちもいて、彼らから直接ホンネトークが聞けたところがよかったです。権威が関わるイベントって結局原稿読みみたいになることが多いけど、これは主催者のサムさんの力量もあり、自由な雰囲気で議論がなされていてよかったと思います。FBの共同創立者のクリスに「スポーツと社会変革」にテクノロジーはどんな風に活用できそうかなにかアイデアない?って聞いてみたときも、、「う~ん、スポーツ得意じゃないんだよね」って率直に言われたし(笑)。国連平和活動で得られた情報を私企業の投資判断に生かしていく、という視点はすごいと思いました。

でもアディダスの登壇者(ワールドカップで使用されるボールの開発責任者なのだとか!大変そうっ)は、Sport For Smile のストラテジックパートナーで世界中でサッカーを活用して開発と平和に関する活動を推進している団体のネットワーク “streetfootballworld”の仲間をよく知っている、とのことで、「ほんの数日前に会ったよ」と言われたときは、それまでちょっとだけ感じていたアウェイ感(テクノロジー系が苦手な私)が消えました!

WSIE2014 a

「社会を変えようとするとき、必ずそれに抗う人たちがいるから簡単ではないけれど、早期から子供たちを教育してよりよい社会づくりに献身的になるようなシステムをつくっていきましょう」というメッセージが心強く、「起業家の仕事は、周りがNOといっているときにYESと言い続けることだ」という言葉にも鼓舞されました。このような貴重な機会をいただきましたことに、改めて感謝。

